Creator: Chapter 3 – The Adventure’s Guild

Morning came and I was woken by the strong light shining through the window. I was alone in the room with no idea if Edgar came back the night before, I got up and tidied up the bed and left towards the counter. The Inn keeper told me that Edgar was stocking up the carriage and if I finished using the room so I returned the keys and headed to the parking lot.

“Hey Edgar, you leaving soon?”

“Yeah, I just finished loading, just need to let the horse eat and then I’m heading out. How about we go have breakfast I’ll fill you on last-minute details.”

We went to the same diner from the night before and I had a simple meal containing eggs and cheese with bread. It was enough to fill me with the energy to start the day. After our meals we talked about important people within the Kingdom and other regions.

“Well then, I think you’re ready to live here, one last present from me it’s a simple leather armor so you can begin your journey and here take these coins.”

I said my thanks a phrase that I felt I had said too many times these past two days and I really didn’t want to accept the coins which he gave me. There were a total of 10 gold coins but he wouldn’t take then back saying that he can earn it back easily, I still didn’t want to accept them to which he told me just to pay them back later. We both got up after deciding we finished what we wanted to talk about and went outside after paying.

“This is it, we will be parting ways here. It’s been a pleasure to meet the one who will be named hero. Also one last thing keep your identity a secret so that you can move around more freely.”

“Sure thing, let’s meet again I have a lot of favors to repay. Have a safe trip and next time you see me I’ll be strong.”

We shook hands and went our separate ways, first thing I was going to do is sign up in the Adventure’s Guild. Asking around the area I was told the place was not far, being one of the largest building in this area it was easily seen at a distance. I went inside the Adventure’s Guild entering from the double doors and immediately heard a noisy atmosphere. Many people were in groups either standing or sitting on the round tables provided. There were four lines in front of the counters so I asked an employee who kept order in the guild and was told to stand in the first line for signing up. The employee was a guy in his mid-twenties bulk with a strong gaze so people kept peace and order while in line.

Looking around now that I was waiting, there was a variety of individuals the majority with a European look while a few who clearly didn’t look human some with animal limbs and extremities or others who were bigger or smaller in height than an average human. Having my mind occupied by the ones around me I was being called on by the attendant since it was my turn. It was a beautiful lady with long reddish hair radiating a nice smile while calling me.

“Seems your new in town was your village of only humans?”

I guess my stares around the place gave away that I am not from around here and was easily discovered.

“Yes, I just arrived here yesterday night so it’s my first time around this city.”

“Can you read and write?”

With the knowledge I was given I could do both as if they were my native tongue even if the words here sounded like old English mixed with Latin and a bit of German a  language I never heard before.

“Yes I can.”

“Alright can you fill in this document and make sure to read carefully since the rules will need to be repeated when you turn in the paper.”

I picked up the papers I was supposed to fill in and took no longer than a few minutes, since it asked simple questions like name, age, hometown and such. For some of the questions I used the info Edgar told me to use.

I had to return it in the same line as before but the others that were handed the same paper didn’t finish yet so I was the only one getting back in line.

“Finished already? You sure you read the rules carefully because I will be asking you to repeat the rules right away.”

She seemed surprised maybe because the education here was for the rich so many who decide to be adventures are mostly illiterate, some of the others had someone reading the information to them.

“Its fine everything should be correct and I’m also ready for the test please.”

Looking a bit surprise when she looked at the paper she called me to a room on the back.

“This is some beautiful handwriting are you by chance a noble if so you should know the guild treats everyone the same.”

“Don’t worry I’m just like everyone else here I just happen to have a good teacher.”

“I see, well let’s start please repeat the rules and hold this crystal in one hand, it’s a tool that will connect your mana with the card, I’ll also ask you to hold on to this card in your other hand.”

Both items were given and I recited the rules, seems the rules were the catalyst for the crystal to activate as I felt heat from both hands. The rules were simple such as not causing problems that would taint the name of the guild and such, but killing was allowed outside towns and of course the other person has to pose a danger to your life or others.

The process went smoothly taking only a few minutes to complete, afterword both items were taken and I was told the card would be given when the information is printed which shouldn’t take long. Although we could have finished there I asked the receptionist more information about the monsters in the area, she seemed to know them well as she gave me a rough description on each of the common and uncommon types also the few rare that might appear. Before finishing our conversation she gave me her name which I forgot to ask before.

“Ah, sorry because it’s my job to talk to everyone who comes in I forget to give out my own name, its Lira so greet me whenever you get a chance I am usually in the recruitment counter but I will assist you with any problems you may encounter.”

“Thanks Lira, I will be in your care during my stay in this town as for the information it helped me a lot and I’ll make sure to use it during my hunts.”

“Well then Logan, that’s about all I can provide about the monsters around here, just make sure to be careful out there.”

Saying those final words a sorrow expression could be seen as she tried to cover it up and told me to either wait or come back in a while to pick up the card. I told her I’ll wait in the guild and we both exited the small examination room. I headed to the board where the quests for adventurers were posted. There were a variety of quests ranging from hunting, collecting, protecting as well as small part-time jobs. Some were made for groups while simple ones like collecting can be done individually and could be repeated endlessly raising only a few points as well as money for trading in loot.

Some of the monsters on the list were the ones that Lira named with roughly drawn pictures, the poster also gave out names of items the monster would drop and sell. I also check the posts on collecting quests where it contains many plants that are bought for making potions and other curative antidotes. Since I wanted to test myself I need a weak monsters so I looked through the levels and started planning out the area I will be going to today, a small woodland to the eastern part of the city shouldn’t be but half an hours walk from here. For those that wanted to take down notes paper was given as well as a feathered ink pen, below the board part of the wall was given a small step to which people could use to write on.

While I was busy I was called on by Lira who had finished my card, it was a plain bronze colored card with information written on it with magic ink. I was told it’s to prevent data modification as well as it stores achievements and when paired with a larger card the guild uses about the size of a ten inch tablet more data is displayed.

Reading the card I was curious on one part which had (Job Class: Jobless), my creator class was not posted in this card even though my skill Scan displays it. It would be an act of the Overseer to prevent the unique class from being known for now.

“Remember that you need to be at level ten to change jobs, we will do the procedures for the change here. Just make sure not to go too far inside the forest since your just starting, it would be wise to look for a party around your level to help you level faster.”

I was thankful for Lira looking out for me but I was going to try solo first to test my abilities.

“I’ll be going now, thanks for all the tips I shall follow them and so lets meet again soon.”

I was finished with the matters of the guild and so I headed outside with a small map I drew of the surroundings while I earn a bit of money to buy a real one soon.

Author’s Note: Another small chapter, I started this story from Chapter 4 since I didn’t have a clear idea of how I was going to transport the boy so the next few chapters should be juicer, I hope… While I was thinking of how to introduce Lira it was quite sad that she didn’t get the intro she deserved, maybe I’ll rewrite the this story later hopefully with more experience and with greater ideas to give her a better, more memorable intro. Thanks for reading, cya in the next Chapter.

For those that read and write in Royal Road find this and all my others works, here.

Leave a comment